Tibetan Parlimentary & Policy Research Centre

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home France


E-mail Print PDF

Official Tibet group in both the chambers

Current President: Mr. Louis de Broissia (UMP)

The group was officially constituted in June 2000 under the strong pressure given by Mr. Louis de Broussia and Mr. Claude Huriet.

The first attempts to constitute an official group were made way back in 1994 by the then Senators Mr. Jacques Golliet and Mr. Claude Huriet but repeatedly they failed in the face of the pro-China Senate's President Mr. René Monory. Until the creation of the group, the senator friends of Tibet formed a loose association called Franco-Tibetan Friends Association which organized various actions for Tibet but technically out of Senate.

Since the election in 2000, of Mr. Christian Poncelet as its President, all moved very fast, and finally the group was officially constituted in June 2000.

Note: Mr. Claude HURIET is no more senator but given his long standing support for Tibet, he has been designated as Honorary President of the Senate's Tibet Group.

Contact address
Mr. Louis de BROISSIA
Groupe d'Information sur le Tibet
15, rue de Vaugirard
75006 Paris
Tel: 0142343517
Fax: 0142344322


The group was first officially constituted in 1990 (and since then continuously renewed at each legislature) by the then MP Mr. Louis de Broissia and Mr. Jean Michel Belorgey.

Current President: Mr. Lionnel LUCA (UMP)

Contact address
Mr. Lionnel LUCA
Group d'Etudes sur les problemses du Tibet
Assemblee Nationale
126, rue de l'Universite
75007 PARIS
Tel: 0493229444
Fax: 0493229666
email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Last Updated ( Friday, 14 November 2008 18:51 )